Answered By: Jodie Borgerding
Last Updated: May 19, 2015     Views: 51

The library computers are set up differently than those at other campus computer labs.

Fast facts

  • You may save data to Window's drive H: (My Documents) and the Mac's student drive. This area does not get get cleared on a reboot so your work is safe if you save here.
  • Since files on drive H: (My Documents) and the Mac's student drive don't get deleted automatically when you restart your computer, delete your work YOURSELF.
  • If you don't delete your files from the Window's Drive H: or the Mac's Student drive, don't expect them to be there when you come back.
    • We do periodically delete the files.
    • Someone else might do it for you
  • The #1 reason that people lose their work is when retrieving a file from e-mail.
    • First, please SAVE the file to Drive H: or the Mac's student drive
    • Then Open the file work on it.
    • When you finish editing, SAVE the file to Drive H: or the Mac's student drive
    • Then reattach the file to your e-mail and resend it.
  • Saving on Mac's
    • Do not save your work to the Desktop or on Macintosh HD. If you do, you will lose your files if/when the computer is restarted. Please save everything to Student HD to avoid losing your work.

Tips

  • Save often
  • Save to more than one place or filename

Chat